An overview of The 68th Emmy Awards

The 68th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards honored the best in U.S. prime time television programming from June 1, 2015 until May 31, 2016, as chosen by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. The ceremony was held on Sunday, September 18, 2016 at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles, California, and was broadcast in the U.S. by ABC. The ceremony was hosted by Jimmy Kimmel. It was preceded by the68th Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, which took place over two nights, September 10 and 11, at the Microsoft Theater.

Crime anthology The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story won five awards, the most awards of the night, while fantasy drama Game of Thrones won three, including Outstanding Drama Series and Frasier (37) as the fictional television program with the most Primetime Emmy Awards with 38 wins in six seasons. The political satire series Veep also won Outstanding Comedy Series for the second time in a row, while its producer and lead star Julia Louis-Dreyfus established the new record of wins for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series; it was her fifth consecutive win for the series, and sixth overall in the category.

The nominations were announced by Anthony Anderson and Lauren Graham on July 14, 2016. The limited series The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story was the most nominated program at the ceremony with 13, and 22 overall, although Game of Thrones received the most overall nominations that year with 23 and was the most nominated drama series.

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony hosted by Jimmy Kimmel on September 18, 2016. With five awards, The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story took the most wins. The two main television program categories, drama and comedy, were won by the same programs as the previous year (Game of Thrones and Veep, respectively). For the acting categories, there were debut dramatic wins for Rami Malek for Mr. Robot and Tatiana Maslany for Orphan Black. The main comedic acting awards went for a second time to Jeffrey Tambor for Transparent, and Julia Louis-Dreyfus for Veep, for the fifth consecutive year.